Mayor & City Commission

2022-2024 Battle Creek City Commission

City Commission meetings

  • 7 p.m., first and third Tuesdays of the month
  • City Hall, 10 N. Division St.
    City Commission Chambers, Room 301
    Battle Creek, MI 49014
  • Note: Meetings are in person, and air live on AccessVision and the city's YouTube channel. Public comment must be in person, or emailed to There are occasions that commission workshops can be held virtually, so please watch for individual public notices for those. 

2023 meeting dates

Pursuant to the Charter of the City of Battle Creek (Section 2.9), the Battle Creek City Commission approved the following schedule for the 2022-2023 City Commission year on Dec. 6, 2022. The following are the approved dates:

Dec. 20, 2022May 2, 2023Sept. 5, 2023
Jan. 3, 2023
May 16, 2023Sept. 19, 2023
Jan. 17, 2023June 6, 2023Oct. 3, 2023
Feb. 7, 2023June 20, 2023Oct. 17, 2023
Feb. 21, 2023July 11, 2023
Due to July 4 holiday
Nov. 7, 2023
March 7, 2023July 18, 2023
March 21, 2023Aug. 1, 2023
April 11, 2023
Due to spring break
Aug. 15, 2023
April 18, 2023

  1. Mark Behnke

    Mayor, At-Large

  2. Roger Ballard

    Commissioner, Ward 1

  3. Jim Lance

    Commissioner, Ward 5

  4. Jenasia Morris

    Commissioner, Ward 2

  5. Patrick O'Donnell

    Commissioner, Ward 3

  6. Carla Reynolds

    Commissioner, At-Large

  7. Christopher Simmons

    Commissioner, Ward 4

  8. Jake W. Smith

    Commissioner, At-Large

  9. Sherry Sofia

    Vice Mayor, At-Large

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

About the Commission

The City of Battle Creek will provide the necessary reasonable auxiliary aids and services, such as signers for the hearing impaired and audio tapes of printed materials being considered in the meeting upon seven days notice to the City of Battle Creek. Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the City of Battle Creek by writing or calling Victoria L. Houser, City Clerk.

Battle Creek City Commissioners typically serve two-year terms. As of 2020, city voters now elect the mayor as a separate office, to serve a two-year term. After an election, the commissioners will select a vice mayor from among themselves, to serve a two-year term.
The next election of the City Commission will be held in November 2024.
The Commission includes five ward commissioners, representing geographic wards within the City, and four at-large commissioners.

Commission Committees